Praise + Sweet Potato Biscuits

hi, guys

Welcome to my blog.

Thought I’d start off a bit awkwardly, just ’cause I can.

Anyway, today’s devo is rather short. Actually, I don’t even know if it could even be called a “devo” because it doesn’t even involve a verse.

I thought that today I would just provide you encouragement.

Today was just one of those insanely perfect, nothing-can-go wrong days, you know? Except I think I failed a chemistry test…

…we won’t get into that. Anyway, today I just couldn’t stop praising Jesus. Every step I took reminded me of every last step he took. Every opportunity I had to complain I relished the fact that Jesus didn’t complain.

Woah!

He was a pretty cool guy.

During this praise I was constantly reminded of the times I didn’t praise. The times I am too lazy to get off the couch and do something helpful and productive. The times I complain endlessly. But there’s just so much more than that to life! And that’s why we need Him. And that’s why over 2,000 years ago tomorrow he died for us. So go Jesus!

So sorry that was a little bit surfaced – it wasn’t exactly deep. I’ll try to work on that.

But here I present to you the greatest biscuits you will ever meet.

No, seriously. As in, better-than-Red-Lobster good.

Drumroll, please…

20130328-185006.jpg

Dun-da-dah! Sweet Potato Rosemary Biscuits.

I know it sounds a little gross, but trust me- these things are delish. Not that I would know, I’ve only eaten five one.

Here’s the recipe:

adapted from Spoon Fork Bacon

Makes 12
Ingredients:
1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 stick (1/2 cup) light butter (you can use regular)
1 small sweet potato, peeled, boiled and mashed (about 3/4 to 1 cup)
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, minced
3 tablespoons buttermilk
*1/4 cup applesauce if using light butter

1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
2. Place flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and pepper into a bowl and whisk together.
3. Cut in butter with a pastry knife or using your fingers until a fine grainy texture forms.
4. Fold in rosemary, sweet potato, buttermilk, and applesauce and stir until dough just comes together.
5. Drop dough in equal-sized portions onto a greased baking pan. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until baked through.
6. To store: Place biscuits in an airtight container and place in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Praise + Sweet Potato Biscuits

What's cookin'?

