Grief + Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Hope everyone is happily recovering from this weekend’s events! I personally have had one too many “just because I can” chocolates and bites of ice cream, but, hey, life goes on, right?

I’ve decided that my devotion doesn’t have to be fancy or inspiring- it doesn’t even have to include a verse. So here’s my no-frills devo of the day:

I’m now convinced that by driving a long car trip by yourself you are giving yourself FAR too much time to think. On my way to my grandmother’s house the other day.I was given that opportunity.

I started thinking about Easter-not only the joy brought by the fact that our Lord is risen, but also the pure joy of visiting with family, painting Easter eggs- the tradition of it all. As I contemplated these things, I started thinking about my dad and how he wouldn’t get to experience all of those treasured, once-a-year joys; and I started to cry.

It was all very silly of me, as my Dad’s in a much happier place- Easter must be pretty fun in heaven! Bit the more I thought about it, the more I cried, and the more I cried, the more I thought about it. I finally got so fed up with myself that I changed the radio station to the Christian station. On it was playing The Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns, and it was just what I needed to hear, per usual. God has a funny way of doing that, doesn’t he?

So, anyway, I wiped away my tears, laughing at myself. Grief is a funny thing. While it may be understandable and okay to a certain extent, too much or too little of it is bad. It’s all about balance, and I guess I’ll be working on that for the rest of my life.

Sorry that was long and tedious, but here’s your recipe for today!

Broccoli Cheddar Soup (Panera Bread copycat)

20130401-190253.jpg

adapted from Keenan’s Kitchen

makes about 5 servings

1/2 medium chopped onion
1 tablespoon melted butter
1/4 cup flour
2 cups fat free milk
2 cups chicken broth
1/2 lb fresh broccoli
1 cup carrot, julienned
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
8 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese
salt and pepper
Directions

1. Sauté onion in non stick cooking spray. Set aside.
2. Cook melted butter and flour using a whisk over medium heat for 3-5 minutes. Stir constantly and add the milk.
3. Add the chicken stock. Simmer for 20 minutes.
4. Add the broccoli, carrots and onions. Cook over low heat 20-25 minutes.
5. Add salt and pepper. Transfer contents to a blender and pulse until desired consistency (if at all). Return to heat and add cheese. Stir in nutmeg.

Enjoy! This wasn’t exactly like the Panera staple, but since there’s not one anywhere near my house, this was a pretty good substitute.

Have a great week!

What's cookin'?

