Rejoicing + Dill Sweet Potatoes

The Lord has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad. Psalm 118:23

Mornings are often difficult, especially school mornings. I have to reflect on this verse all the time.

The King James Version of this verse reads that, “This is the day that The Lord hath made.” I just get all giddy inside knowing that God made this day, not only for me, but for all of us, to help someone out, or to do something great, or even to just sit back and pray and thank Him for everything He has given us. Sometimes you just have to do that, you know?

Even though I’ve only had this blog for a few days, I want you to know that I am so, so thankful for all of you readers. If I don’t thank you via written word every day, know I am so thankful for you and praying for you each ad every day.

So, here’s your recipe for today!

Dill Roasted Sweet Potatoes

br />
20130402-170751.jpg

I know, I know. Another sweet potato recipe already? I just love the things, and they were on sale at Kroger, so sue me.

makes 3 servings
adapted from Minimalist Baker

1 large sweet potato
1 small white onion
1/2 cup fresh dill or 2 tablespoons freeze dried
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line a baking sheet with foil. Lightly spray with non-stick spray.
2. Rinse and scrub sweet potatoes and remove any dark spots. Then dice into 1-inch cubes and add to a large mixing bowl.

20130402-170646.jpg
3. Dice onion into rings and add to the bowl as well, along with the garlic cloves. Add olive oil and toss. Then season with salt, pepper and dill and toss again until well coated.
4. Add to baking sheet in a single layer.
Bake for 35-45 minutes or until soft and potatoes slide off a knife or fork with ease. Remove from oven and serve immediately.

I’m a health food nut, if you didn’t know, so I cut down the olive oil from the original recipe and also cut the recipe in half for our house, but you can double it, quintuple it, whatever you wanna do. This smelled so good while in the oven! Hope you enjoy!

What's cookin'?

