Thankfulness + Cheese Grits

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” Colossians 4:2

Last night after youth group, I was just slammed -consumed- with all that I should be thankful for. Stories from fellow youth members were so powerful and moving; and, sure, I’ve been through a lot- but I forget just how fortunate I am. I have so much to celebrate, so much to appreciate- and I couldn’t help but stay up until 12 AM contemplating these things. :)

All over the Bible is written, “Give thanks to The Lord, for his love endures forever.” So here goes nothing!

First of all, obviously, I am so thankful for my God, my church(es), my youth group, and an opportunity to profess my faith in the way that I choose. I have been truly blessed to have grown up in a Christian household and to have had Christian friends who don’t mind me babbling on and on about how great the God of the Universe is. I know that’s not something too many teenagers can say/would be okay with saying; and I’m so happy that I can.

I’m also so thankful for my family- both my immediate and extended families. My parents always made sure that I never had to worry about anything that I could ever need; I feel like I had the happiest of happy childhoods. Even though things began to fall apart as I got older, my dad was always someone I could run to when I needed him, and my mom is the absolute strongest person I’ve ever met- or heard of, besides Job, but we won’t get into that.

And although I’m so thankful for a multitude of other things, the last thing I’ll mention is that I’m thankful for my hometown. A year ago I’d never admit it, but with all the recent drama surrounding my family and me, I’m ever-thankful for all the people who have been there for us. People have been so great and supportive and helpful, and I just don’t know that it would have been anything close to the same experience if we hadn’t lived here. So, thank you, everyone!

Another thing I’m so thankful for is -you guessed it- FOOD.

It’s just one of God’s most beautiful gifts. I had a recipe left from last week that I never showed you guys, but I was like…

Nah.

It’s Monday.

Let’s do cheese grits.

This is actually a recipe of my own (excitement!), and let me tell ‘ya, folks- it is GOOD.

I’m honestly not much of a comfort food person. I find solace in fruits and vegetables and granola bars- but I’d eat the whole pan of these cheese grits. Try them, and you’ll see why.

20130408-171031.jpg

Cheese Grits

aka one of my favorite things ever. Makes 8-10 servings; serves 1 (I kid, I kid)

Ingredients:
3 cups water
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup quick-cook grits
8 ounces (half a small block) Velveeta
3/4 cup Ricotta cheese
2 eggs
about 1/2 cup milk
hot sauce

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook grits according to directions.
2. Melt Velveeta (trust me, this stuff is your BFF) and, once melted, mix with Ricotta. This ricotta is not necessary if you’re going for mediocre, but I think it just makes the grits spectacular.
3. In a measuring cup, beat the eggs. Once beaten, fill to the 1 cup measure with milk. Then mix with the cheese mixture.
4. After the grits are cooked, mix all ingredients together and pour into a greased casserole dish. Pour hot sauce to taste on top and mix in. Trust me on this one- it doesn’t make them hot; it makes them flavorful. Bake for 40 minutes to an hour or until thickened. Salt and pepper to taste. I unhealthily enjoy mine with a nice dose of the sodium.

And don’t just enjoy. Devour.

One thought on “Thankfulness + Cheese Grits

  1. Pingback: Shrimp and Grits with Corn + Bacon | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

