Complaining + BBQ Pork Chops

“Do everything without complaining and arguing, so that no one can criticize you. Live clean innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people.” Philippians 2:14-15

My friend Laken sent me that verse this morning, and I instantly knew that it was what I wanted to share with you. I’m not happy to admit that almost every close friend I’ve ever had has told me at least once that I complain too much. If that’s not a hint, I don’t know what is.

I’m cold! I don’t WANT to go outside. This is SO boring! Why are we sitting by them, again?

I don’t know why I -or anyone, for that matter- complain so much. Maybe it’s a good conversation starter, so we think. Or maybe we think it makes us sound “cool”. Why is this? Who ever installed that rule?

Instead, God calls us to shine as lights for him, only praising him and his creation. Why spend our precious time God has given us complaining about other things which he has given us?

I definitely think I’ll be posting this verse somewhere I can see it daily. It’s just something that I, and probably many of you, should be thinking about constantly. I’m going to try to say something positive each time I want to complain about something; we’ll see how that goes!

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I made these beautiful Barbecue Rubbed Pork Chops!

20130411-170939.jpg

These were super yummy, and I think the rub would be good on chicken as well! I promise we eat other meat in this house- nothing but pork has popped up here yet, though. :)

recipe slightly adapted from Taste and Tell Blog

1 tablespoon light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon chili powder
3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
4 boneless pork chops
Cooking Spray

The steps are very simple!
1. Combine all spices and rub onto pork chops.
2. Spray a skillet with cooking spray and “dry fry” the pork chops- I’d set the burner on a low-ish setting so that the pork chop cooks through without charring the outside. Flip after about 5-10 minutes on one side, and cook for about the same amount of time on the other side until cooked throughout.

I served these with the cheese grits, and they were wonderful! It honestly wasn’t very barbecue-y to me (I think I’m too southern to actually call that a barbecue rub), but it was still a top-notch rub. It’s pretty mild, so even you picky people would enjoy it!

Happy Thursday!

What's cookin'?

