Joy + Green Beans

Shout for joy to God, all the Earth! Sing the glory of his name; make his praise glorious. Psalm 66:1

If I had the power to post this whole psalm and make it not monotonous, I would. It’s just that uplifting! However, since I can’t, go read it. It’ll make your day, I promise.

Today has been a glorious day- a joyous day- a day that The Lord truly has made.

After this gloomy weather we’ve been having around these parts, it makes my heart so happy to look outside at the sunshine. It makes me want to run and sing and dance and jump for joy!

And you know what? I can!

And you know what’s better? God calls me to do all those things!

So why not celebrate while we have the chance? Run while you can; be active while you’re able.

I promise that’s what I’ll be doing.

For such a joyous, bright day, I wish I had a recipe that could convey as much- cake or cookies or a maybe a nice pasta dish. I’ll have to get on that soon.

But, no, for today I have prepared for you a different kind of joy. A simple, smiley joy. A healthy, diet-pleasing-but-you-still-enjoy-it joy. Here it is…

20130412-163820.jpg

Mom’s Green Beans

The title is pretty self-explanatory. It’s pretty much my mom’s recipe, not mine, but I’ll share it with you guys anyway. It’s the only way I knew green beans for over half of my life, and its still the only way I really enjoy them, so definitely give them a try!

serves 6

2 cans green beans, drained
1/8 cup (1 1/2 tablespoons) chopped onion
1 tablespoon sugar
1 packet sweet n’ low
olive oil/chicken broth/other sautéing material

1. Sauté onion in a saucepan until soft.
2. Drain 2 cans green beans and add to onions. Stir.
3. Add sugar and sweet n’ low. Stir, and heat on medium until desired temperature is reached.

It occurred to me while I was cooking this the other night that, to my knowledge, I have never eaten fresh green beans. I bet they’d be great as well in this recipe!

I so encourage you to make these super soon! I also encourage you to kick back with a bowl of ice cream and contemplate its marvelous joy. Do both. Today. At least the second one. I’m gonna.

Have a fabulous weekend!

What's cookin'?

