Charity Miles + Waffles

Happy Monday, y’all! I hope everyone had lovely weekends. Yesterday I went to my home church for the first time in weeks, and it felt so good to be home.

Maybe it’s because I spend so much of my time with my Covenant friends that I start to question – Am I really Episcopalian?. And I love my Covenant Presbyterians, but Sundays like yesterday that I most definitely am a tried-and-true, born-and-raised Southern Episcopalian; it’s just me.

More about that some other time- for now, I want to introduce you all to Charity Miles!

20130415-144016.jpg

I couldn’t even tell you how I found this app (download it!!! It’s free!), but I’m sure glad I did! I won’t be extremely detailed with this, but Charity Miles is an organization that encourages you to get active WHILE being charitable- and it costs you NOTHING!

But how?! you ask.

Well, my friends, you must first download the app. During this time, I encourage you to put on your running clothes and shoes. After these two (very important) steps, head out the door! Now, before you begin your run/walk/bike (they don’t have swim yet; darn), select the exercise in which you’ll be partaking. Then pick your charity- they have so many: Feeding America, Stand up to Cancer, and the Wounded Warrior Project are just a few.

Here’s the goodness- for every mile you bike, Charity Miles donates $0.10 to your chosen charity. For every mile you walk or run, they donate $0.25. Now, this may not seem like a lot, but over time, that money can really add up! It’s the perfect excuse to get in shape (with an added bonus of feeling a little philanthropic), and paired with this weather, why not get outside while doing so?

I have several recipes I’m excited to share with you this week, and I thought I’d start off right with some good, simple waffles. Actually, that’s quite the understatement; these are the yummiest, happiest waffles you’ll ever put in your mouth. And they’re only about 170 calories per waffle (about a half cup of batter)!

20130415-183544.jpg

Perfect Guilt-Free Waffles

I can’ take much any credit for these. I copied Claire’s recipe ingredient-for-ingredient. And you should too! Also, check out her totally awesome website. I hope that when I’m a nutritionist I’m half as cool as she.

Have a great week!

What's cookin'?

