Perseverance

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know the testing of your faith produces perseverance.” James 1:2-3

Trials.

We’re supposed to consider those pure… joy?

I don’t know about you guys, but whenever I’m going through a difficult time, I’m not throwing a party or celebrating life or baking cookies (okay, maybe the cookies, but I wouldn’t enjoy them… much). No, I generally sulk or cry or complain. It varies.

But I’m not joyous. At all.

And that’s natural. However, the God of the universe generally wants us to do whatever we feel is unnatural, which, in this case, means accepting the trial and diving into it head-first, braced with a smile.

Now, in actuality, that’s often impossible to do. Trials such as breaking an arm or failing a test?

Ehh. I can smile my way through those.

But we’re all adults here; I’m talking real-world trials.

Losing a job. Death in the family. Chronic illnesses.

It’s a little harder to smile our way through those things.

As I’ve posted before, God wants us to grieve. Grief is very important! However, it is also important that we not dwell on these things, for God only gives us these trials to make us stronger- to make us have perseverance.

It’s important to have this perseverance to help us through the next trial- and then the next and the next. I know that sometimes it seems that God is handing us trial after trial, but know you are only being made stronger because of them, and that a multitude of greater things is awaiting us when all is said and done.

What's cookin'?

