National Day of Prayer + Balsamic Chicken

If you haven’t heard, today is National Day of Prayer! How great is that?

When I first found out about this day I was like,

“What? Aren’t we supposed to pray, like… every day?”

But then I decided that its nice to have a day that our country recognizes as a day to lay it all on Him.

Not that it matters what I think, but still.

Anyway, (again- this is just my opinion) I decided that since we don’t have an allowance on prayer time- he wants to talk to us all the time! – and we generally spend it on things involving ourselves, I should probably spend the majority of today’s prayer time on others.

So that’s what I’ve been doing, and let me tell you- I’m not saying this to build myself up or anything like that- it has made my day run a lot smoother than it probably would have if I hadn’t been praying.

Hope you guys had a great National Day of Prayer!

Balsamic Bruschetta Chicken

20130502-214901.jpg

This was something I thought of completely on my own, and it was so good! I know bruschetta generally involves mozzarella cheese, but I’m just not a fan. You can add some if you’d like!

serves 4

Ingredients
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved (or 4 small)
1 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 large tomato
1 tablespoon red onion (or more, whatever floats your boat)
1 tablespoon parsley
sugar
Olive oil spray
salt and pepper

1. Spray a skillet with olive oil spray and add chicken breasts. Salt and pepper both sides and cook until, well, cooked throughout.
2. In the meantime in between time, put the vinegar in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then down to a simmer and leave it be for roughly 20 minutes or until it gets rather thick. Add a little sugar (I did 2 teaspoons) to curb the acidity. This is balsamic reduction! Let it cool a little to thicken it a bit more before serving.
3. Chop tomato, parsley, and onion (freeze the rest of the onion for later!) and mix together in a small bowl.
4. To plate your dish, place the chicken on the plate, add reduction, and top with the bruschetta mixture. Salt and pepper liberally.

And voila! Enjoy!

One thought on “National Day of Prayer + Balsamic Chicken

  1. Pingback: Grilled Cheesus | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

