God’s Will + Pasta Salad

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Ever wondered just what your purpose on this beautiful Earth is?

I know I have, and this says it all. It’s pretty plain and clear! Rejoice, pray, and give thanks.

I guess that’s kind of the premise of this blog. I want this to be a reminder that we should all rejoice, pray, and give thanks. It’s God’s will, after all!

I know some days (like today) I don’t have much to say. Some days I wonder why I don’t just make a food blog where it’d be more about making the food look pretty than Jesus.

And maybe one day I will, but for the time being, I think it’s important that I remind myself of the simplicity of God’s will. In order to write this blog I am required to sit down with my Bible (or Bible app) and soak in The Lord. Sometimes it’s the only time I do that all day (I know. I’m ashamed.), and I need it.

So, anyway, thanks for following me on this journey so far, and thanks for keeping me accountable!

Pasta Salad with Rosemary Balsamic Dressing

20130507-172630.jpg

This is so yummy! I made it in hopes of summer weather, and slowly (but surely!) we’re getting there. As I was mentally creating this dish, I tried to come up with in-season vegetables that I thought sounded good, but you can really use whatever you want.

And the dressing- mmm. You know how I love my rosemary! I don’t think it’d be a complete week on this blog without a rosemary recipe.

Pasta Salad
serves 4
Ingredients
2-3 cups pasta, cooked
1 medium yellow squash
1/2 red bell pepper
1/2 orange bell pepper
1/2 medium sweet vidalia onion
a handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil or chicken broth

1. Cook and drain pasta (look, mine were heart-shaped!).

20130507-183859.jpg

2. While pasta is cooking, slice all of the lovely vegetables and toss in a bowl with a bit of salt and pepper.
3. Cook vegetables in a skillet with olive oil or chicken broth for 7-8 minutes or until cooked.
4. Toss vegetables with pasta and add dressing.

Rosemary Dressing
slightly adapted from Cooking Light
2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar (they do sell this in Cleveland!)
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon fresh chopped rosemary

1. Combine ingredients and mix well together.
2. Pour over pasta and serve warm or chilled. Both ways are delicious!

I took leftovers for lunch at school, and I can say that this takes a top spot as my favorite pasta salad! Next time I may add some olives for that “traditional” pasta salad feel.

Enjoy!

What's cookin'?

