Standing Firm + Crockpot Lemon Chicken

Before I begin this post, I want to state that I realize this may cause some controversy. I am in no way intending to insult or anger anyone; I am merely stating my opinion and stance on this subject. I am sorry if this bothers any one of you because that is not my intent.

“Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of The Lord, because you know that your labor in The Lord is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:58

You see, lately I’ve had a struggle. It doesn’t seem like anything big when I take it out of context, and I guess I’m feeling a little bit bad for myself, but I have really struggled with this for the past few weeks.

Student Council elections.

They’re coming up next week. And these aren’t your everyday, ho-hum class secretary elections. No sir. These are for student body president.

Ahh, the coveted position. I’ve wanted it ever since I was a bright-eyed, bushy-tailed, snot-nosed freshman. And, now, there are four others vying for the title.

I (naively) hoped that the others would take it easy on me after this past year and just let me have the position. Ha.

I’m about to sound like a typical teenage girl here, but apparently people don’t just want me to not win. They want me to lose. There’s a difference, you know. Rumor has it that some people are running for the sole purpose of making me lose.

This has really (realllyyyyy) bothered me, especially because I’m not sure what I did to offend these people. I know I’m a filthy, ugly sinner, but is that a valid reason to dislike me? At first I was angry, then sad and confused, then just plain frustrated. I wanted to make amends with said people, but I didn’t know that that was the answer to solving the issue. I didn’t know what was.

I knew I’d found my answer when I heard this verse last night.

I couldn’t let it bother me. As much as I want to heal all and appease everything, I just can’t. I have to stand firm in my beliefs and convictions and know that whatever The Lord gives me is what he intends for me. And if this struggle is something he wants me to muddle through, so be it. All I can do is what I’ve been doing, and that’s what I plan on doing, so…

Vote Mary Clay for CHS President! Oh, and love Jesus while we’re at it.

Crockpot Lemon Chicken

20130509-192824.jpg

This recipe comes straight from The Recipe Critic, who gave it 5 stars- and rightly so! It’s really easy and yummy, and it goes great with the pasta salad I posted the other night.

serves 4
barely even adapted from
Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used strips)
1 package Good Seasons Italian seasoning
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup flour
1/2 tablespoon flour
1 tablespoon light butter

1. Combine flour and pepper and place in a shallow dish. Coat chicken in this mixture evenly on both sides.
2. Heat butter in a saucepan on the stove. Place chicken in the pan

What's cookin'?

