Mother’s Day + Cinnamon Rolls

My mother has always been my best friend.

20130512-145001.jpg

In good times and in bad- through fussy nap times and junior high meltdowns…

20130512-145413.jpg

…at noisy swim meets and in changing rooms full of dresses…

20130512-145940.jpg

…in tiny towns or in big cities…

20130512-150140.jpg

…we’ve been through it all.

My mom and I don’t always get along, and somehow we’ve managed to stay sane after these seemingly-long-but-surprisingly-short seventeen years. I think I’m even going to miss her when I go to college in just over year.

Maybe. ;)

God truly blessed me by giving me the mother I have. I have never met a stronger, more caring, more selfless, more knowledgeable, more gifted, more God-fearing, more humble, more patient, more beautiful woman in my life. She has given me the world with no expectation of a “thank you.” She has made my brother and me her world and has put herself last. She has been through two bouts of cancer and still has the most immense sense of hope that I’ve ever seen. She has faced tragedy after tragedy, and I’ve only seen her shed a tear once in my life.

Basically, she’s amazing, and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

20130512-151256.jpg

I love you, mom! Happy Mother’s Day!

To celebrate Mother’s Day in this house, I made… (dun dun duuuuuun)

20130512-151534.jpg

Cinnamon Rolls with Almond Cream Cheese Glaze

And it was very good. The almond cream cheese glaze might sound a bit odd, but no. It was beautiful. And I couldn’t just make plain vanilla glaze. Oh, no.

My mom is more special than that.

These are pretty easy, and although they are time consuming (it’s not so bad if you do most of the prep work the night before!), they are totally worth the effort.

Cinnamon Rolls
recipe slightly adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction
makes 11 rolls

Ingredients
Rolls
2 and 3/4 cup flour
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 packet Active Dry yeast
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter
1 large egg
Filling
Butter Spray (Pam)
1 and 1/2 Tablespoons ground cinnamon
1/4 cup granulated sugar

1. Combine 2-1/4 cup flour (reserve 1/2 cup), sugar, salt, and yeast in a bowl.
2. Combine water, milk, and butter in a microwaveable bowl and microwave until butter is melted. Add to dry ingredients when the temperature of the liquids is between 125-135 degrees F. Add in egg and as much flour as needed to form a soft dough.
3. Knead dough on a flat, floured surface for about 5 minutes. Place in a greased bowl to rest for 10 minutes.
4. Flatten dough into a rectangular shape. Spray with butter spray and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. Slice into 11 strips; roll each and place in a 9″ greased baking pan.

20130512-153127.jpg
5. Place in a warm area (I preheated the oven to 200 degrees and cut it off before putting the pan in) for 60-90 minutes to let the dough rise. Rolls should double in size.
6. Steps up through step 5 can be done the night before! All that’s left is the baking. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake the rolls for around 20-25 minutes. Add glaze (see below) and enjoy!

20130512-153210.jpg

Almond Cream Cheese Glaze
Ingredients
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons (3 oz.) reduced fat cream cheese
2-1/2 tablespoons powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1. Beat cream cheese and sugar together in a bowl.
2. Add extracts and enough milk to achieve desired consistency.
3. Pour over fresh-from-the-oven cinnamon rolls.

20130512-153635.jpg

Enjoy, and Happy Mother’s Day!

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day + Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Lemon Blueberry Sweet Rolls | Cooking with The King

  2. Pingback: Cake Batter Muddy Buddies | Cooking with The King

  3. Pingback: White Chocolate Pretzel Cookies | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

