Friends + Salisbury Steak

“A friend loves at all times…” Proverbs 17:17a

During these last few days I have been constantly, constantly reminded just how very blessed I am to have my friends. I know it must not be an easy task to be my friend (helllloooo, dramatic moments), and I often jokingly ask my friends why they’ve stuck around.

I know many people have a hard time finding one true friend, and I can say I’ve been blessed beyond measure to have as many genuine friends as I do have.

They have been there for me every single second of every single day, willing to help me through any challenge I may face. And why do they do this? I know they love me, but I also know I’m hard to like all too often.

It’s because Jesus is in their hearts. All I can say is that Jesus knows what I need. He is the miracle ingredient for sure. A disagreement or misunderstanding between us immediately flies out the window when they know I need them. Jesus makes it happen.

I thank God for them ever day. I can firmly state that I would not be the person I am without them. It’s a truly special thing to have one person who would go to the moon and back for you. I only hope they know I’d do the same for them.

20130518-222049.jpg

Salisbury Steak with Carmelized Onion Gravy

This is a completely atypical meal in this house, but with mom having chemo and needing red meat (it’s got iron, people!), it was an obvious choice. And a yummy one!

This dish had never appealed to me, seeing it only served as “mystery meat” in my school cafeteria. I’m glad I faced my fears and made this, though, because it was so great! Make it at your house soon!

Salisbury Steak
recipe adapted from Bestest Recipes Online
serves 4
Ingredients
Hamburger Patties
1 pound extra-lean ground beef
1/2 cup cooked white rice
1 egg yolk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Mix together with hands.
2. For 4 equal-sized patties. Dry-fry in a skillet, cooking each side for 3-4 minutes.

Gravy
1/2 cup chopped onion (I used frozen)
1 tablespoon olive oil/chicken broth
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
2-1/2 cups beef broth
1/2 cup red cooking wine
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

1. Cook onion in separate skillet with chicken broth (or olive oil, if that’s your thing). After 4-5 minutes, add 1/4 cup beef broth, lower heat, and cover.
2. Stir every so often, adding more broth as needed so that it remains liquid. It should take 25-30 minutes to completely caramelize the onions.
3. Add flour and cook for 2 minutes. Add wine and let it reduce, cooking for about 5 minutes.
4. Stir in remaining beef broth and vinegar and simmer for around 10 minutes.
5. Add salt and pepper. Serve over hamburger patties.

20130518-225608.jpg

Enjoy!

One thought on “Friends + Salisbury Steak

  1. Pingback: Country “Fried” Steak | LauraLovingLife

What's cookin'?

