Being Tested + Cornbread

“Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” Psalm 139:23, 24

This is what I now refer to as the “awesome prayer.” Literally. I have it marked as “Awesome Prayer” in my Bible.

In this Awesome Prayer, David is asking God for something a “normal” person would probably not want: to be tested.

Excavated. Metal-detected. Searched. Tested.

A non-Christian would probably question this. Why would one want to be searched unnecessarily? It seems almost like being checked out at an airport- who wants that?

Well, I don’t know about you guys, but my conscious agrees with the non-Christian. Why search me extraneously? Why give me unnecessary tests? Just leave me be; I’ll be okay.

But somehow, God follows my sub-conscious, which is screaming, “Pick me! Pick me! Bring it, man!” I don’t know how, and I can’t explain it. It just happens.

Maybe it’s my competitive nature or my super-nerd skillz, but my sub-conscious is always praying for a challenge.

And, trust me, He delivers.

20130520-170724.jpg

Alton Brown’s Creamed Corn Cornbread

I’ve searched and I’ve tested and I’ve worn myself out trying to find my perfect cornbread recipe, and this is it, folks.

Just like its creator, it’s pure Southern: crumbly yet moist, buttery but not greasy, not sweet but flavorful.

20130520-171211.jpg

Perfection.

Anddd it’s good all times of the day! My favorite way to devour this deliciousness is to toast it up and slather some raspberry jam on top, like so:

20130520-171420.jpg

Mmm.

Also, the cast iron skillet is a necessary ingredient. Muy importante.

Creamed Corn Cornbread
serves 12; recipe adapted from Food Network

Ingredients
2 cups yellow cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 cup creamed corn (I used canned)
2 tablespoons light butter, for pan

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and, if using a cast iron skillet (which you should), go ahead and put it in the oven to heat.
2. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Mix wet ingredients and fold into dry ingredients.
3. When the oven is ready, take the skillet out and swirl in the light butter. Pour in batt and bake for around 25 minutes or until it springs back to the touch.

I made this recipe twice (to use up the leftover creamed corn and to satisfy my cornbread cravings), and the photos you see are from the second go-’round, when I made it in half- just to clear up confusion.

Easy as pie.

20130520-185538.jpg

Or… Cornbread.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Being Tested + Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Bacon Cornbread Panzanella Salad | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

