Growing Up + Monkey Bread

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.  When I became a man, I gave up my childish ways.” 1 Corinthians 13:11

 

I know this may not be the most “inspirational” of verses, but it does have quite a connection to something I’ve been thinking about fairly often as of late: growing up.

 

It didn’t really hit me until CHS graduation on Thursday night that

Woah… That’s gonna be me in just a year.

That’s right. I’m a high school senior now.

 

It’s strange to be able to call myself that. I used to think that seniors were soooo old! And I don’t feel old…

Maybe I never will.

 

Anyways, I started thinking about how I’ve changed from freshman year… from seventh grade… from kindergarten. And, like everyone else in the world, there have been some sad changes in my life.

 

Holidays and events aren’t as, well, eventful any more.  Sure, they’re exciting and all, but the magic is gone.  Time passes by more quickly, and I have less and less time to do whatever I want.  I’ve lost interest in things that used to be my favorites. I’ve lost people who used to be my favorites. 

 

However, for every good-thing-gone-bad, I have had multiple new endeavors.  I’ve been able to go new, adventurous places outside my small town. My palate has changed from chicken-tenders-and-french-fries-only-please to give-me-that-squash-and-calamari. I’ve abandoned my one-friend-is-all-you-need mantra, and I’ve gained the confidence and will to sing and act. I’ve met people who have changed my life in the best of ways.

 

And, most importantly, my relationship with God has grown to be so much more than it used to be.  I think that at my age, your faith can either rise and relish or falter and fall; and I am so happy that mine has gotten stronger.

I owe it all to growing up, honestly. If I had not experienced all of the changes and maturation I’ve gone through, I wouldn’t be half the person I am. I only pray for both you and me that as we grow older, our faith grows even stronger.

 

Healthier Semi-Homemade Monkey Bread

 

Image

 

Mmm. Monkey Bread.

 

Such an ironic recipe to combat today’s post.

 

I remember eating this for breakfast sometimes when I’d spend the night with my best friend Beth.  I didn’t really even know what this “Monkey Bread” was.  I just knew it was a big, yeasty, doughy, sticky, caramel-y wreath of good. (ps don’t let the “sticky” part scare you; a good soaking of your pan will take care of that)

 

And this recipe is totally the easy way out, so don’t worry about any real “work” that you’d have to put into this.

 

Image

 

Simply quarter canned biscuits and coat in cinnamon sugar. Place in a bundt pan.

Mix some vanilla and caramel topping,

 

Image

 

 

and cover biscuit pieces evenly.

 

Image

 

 

 

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes…

 

Image

 

 

And voila! Perfection.

 

Healthier Monkey Bread
slightly adapted from ; serves 12
Ingredients
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon
2 cans regular-sized Pillsbury Buttermilk biscuits (not layers)
3/4 cup fat-free caramel sundae topping
2 teaspoons vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix cinnamon and sugar in a gallon-sized Ziploc bag. Open the biscuit cans, and quarter each biscuit. Add pieces to cinnamon sugar mixture, seal bag, and shake to coat. Layer biscuit pieces in a greased and floured bundt pan.
3. Mix caramel sundae topping and vanilla, and coat biscuit pieces.
4. Bake for around 40 minutes or until caramelized and cooked throughout. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Plate by flipping the bundt pan and forming a monkey bread wreath of goodness. Serve warm.

Hope your long weekend is going great!

One thought on “Growing Up + Monkey Bread

  1. Pingback: Skillet Biscuit Beignets | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

