Perfection + Pioneer Steak and Sauce

Perfection.

Such a dangerous word, is it not?

It surrounds us and swallows us whole.

We are taunted by models on magazine covers, chided by our parents (and ourselves) to make the best grades, and prodded by directors looking for the “perfect” someone for a role.

It’s exhausting.

I did some research to see what the Bible had to say about perfection, but I didn’t find anything all that inspiring.

Matthew 5:48 says, “You therefore must be perfect, as your heavenly father is perfect.”

At first I was like… WHAT?!

And I thought about it for a good while. And I finally came to the conclusion that this verse is suggesting that we strive for perfection, which we should do, honestly.

But the good thing is that we don’t have to be perfect because He is! Of course, we should try to be like Him in every way possible, which means we should try to do everything to the best of our abilities, but I find extreme comfort in the fact that God doesn’t love me any less if my hair has 3 inches of split ends.

Or if I make a B-minus on a test instead of an A-plus.

Or if I can’t get the cream to form stiff peaks; rather, sloping hills.

He loves us despite our imperfections. Who doesn’t want a God like that?

In other news, Happy (belated) Memorial Day!

I’m so proud to live in this country, and I am so thankful for all of the men and women who put their lives on the line for our freedom. I wish I had that kind of selflessness in me.

I meant to put up this recipe before Memorial Day, but, you know, life(guarding) gets in the way sometimes.

Speaking of which, I in all of my paleness got a little pink on the job yesterday, and I’m playing Snow White in Delta Center Stage’s “Into the Woods” this Thursday-Sunday (come see it!).
Oh, the irony.

But better late than never, so here is Steak and Mushroom Onion “Cream” Sauce inspired by Ree Drummond, The Pioneer Woman.

I live for Mondays and Wednesdays at 4:30 and Saturdays at 9 when The Pioneer Woman comes on Food Network. If you don’t know who she is, check her out! I love her show, blog, cookbooks, etc. She just has the greatest personality and I just love her.

Anyways. Steak.

Ree has this steak and bleu cheese onion cream sauce recipe that I didn’t really follow at all, but I was inspired by its beauty.

Here’s my version:

20130528-163458.jpg

Mmm. Marinate some steaks (I used skirt steaks from Kroger- I’m not picky about them, but maybe you are) in a tablespoon of Worcestershire. I cannot pronounce that to save my life. My mom gets a kick out of it. Salt and pepper ’em and place them in a cast iron skillet. Cook on medium on each side for about 7 minutes, depending on steak size.

20130528-164132.jpg

In another skillet, sauté half an onion, chopped, with light butter for a few minutes or until soft and caramelized, and add some chopped mushrooms- about 1/2 a cup- with a teaspoon or two of Worcestershire. Don’t worry if you’re not a huge fan of mushrooms – neither am I – but a cream sauce just makes them divine. You can leave them out, though, if you really want to!

20130528-164322.jpg

Cook for about 3 more minutes and add in 1/2 a cup of fat free half and half. Let it warm but not get too hot, as the “cream” will curdle. Serve with the steak.

serves 4
Ingredients
Steaks
1-1/2 to 2 pounds of your favorite steak
1 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
salt and pepper

Onion and Mushroom “Cream” Sauce
1/2 large sweet vidalia or white onion, sliced into large pieces
1/4 – 1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped
1/2 cup fat free half and half
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tablespoon light butter
salt and pepper

1. Marinate steaks for 30 minutes in the refrigerator. Take out and place in a cast iron skillet. Cook on each side for 7-8 minutes. I like my steaks medium, but you know how you like yours.
2. Meanwhile, sauté onions in a small pan with light butter. After onions become soft (3 or 4 minutes), add in mushrooms. Cook for 2-3 minutes and lower heat. Add in half and half, and let it warm, being careful not to let it curdle.

20130528-164954.jpg

This is the perfect start to summer. Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Perfection + Pioneer Steak and Sauce

  1. Pingback: Legacies + Lemon Berry Pancakes | Cooking with The King

  2. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Pancakes | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

