Legacies + Lemon Berry Poppyseed Pancakes

As I was listening to AFR on the way home from Greenville late last night, “Legacy” by Nicole Nordeman began to play. Something very rare happened- I didn’t sing along.

Instead, I sat back and just listened to the lyrics. Funny what can happen when one does that.

Like I talked about in the last post about perfection, people often feel pressured by others and themselves to be the best. We want to be remembered for doing something spectacular.

I know I sometimes feel like I would climb Mount Everest in order to be remembered for doing something awesome.

Okay, so maybe not, but more realistically, I’d like to be remembered for starring in plays and making the best grades and cooking good food.

What I and many others should be concerned about, though, is being remembered for being a light for Jesus. When I sit down and really think about it, I do want to be remembered as “that Jesus freak.” Even though many may modern day persecute me for that, I do want my love for Christ to be my major legacy.

I have a looooong way to go for that to happen, though. This blog is just a baby step!

For today’s recipe I have the best pancakes… possibly ever.

20130530-132808.jpg

Lemon Double Berry Poppyseed Pancakes

These things are beautiful. Light and lemony with a burst of berry goodness- I could probably eat these for breakfast every day for the rest of my life.

Could. Never fear, I still have many more recipes to try out for my favorite meal of the day.

These are absolute perfection served with some butter (and if you know me at all, you know that’s light butter. Spray, actually) and maple syrup. Sugar-free. I know I should be all food blogger-ish and be like, “I only use the real stuff!” but the real stuff is 200 calories more. I’m just not about that life.

Mrs. Butterworth’s sugar-free is where it’s at.

Anyways. Pancakes. After you read this recipe, go and buy some berries and lemons and make these. Seriously, you probably have all the other ingredients. They’re simple and filling- I can’t say enough good things about them.

inspired by Baking with Blondie
makes 17 pancakes (and I ate all but three…)
Ingredients
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
a touch of salt
1/4 cup poppy seeds
zest of 4 lemons
2 cups buttermilk
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup blueberries
1/2 cup blackberries, halved
2 tablespoons light butter, melted

1. Mix dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, and salt) in a large bowl.
2. In a smaller bowl, combine poppy seeds, lemon zest, buttermilk, and eggs. Pour wet ingredient mixture into dry mixture and stir until combined.
3. Heat a non-stick pan on the stove and using a 1/4 cup measure, pour batter onto the pan. Dot with berries. Flip pancakes when bubbles start to form in the middle and stay open.
4. Serve with warm syrup and butter and thoroughly enjoy.

Step 3 took me a while to complete because I have to concentrate on just one pancake at a time, but I’m assuming you guys are more skilled at pancake flipping than I. Try these, and you’ll never need to try another lemon pancake recipe ever, ever again.

20130530-135400.jpg

I promise.

5 thoughts on “Legacies + Lemon Berry Poppyseed Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Lemon Greek Yogurt Cupcakes with Blackberry Buttercream Glaze | Cooking with The King

  2. Pingback: Breakfast Supper; Healthy Pancakes | Loves Old Stuff

  3. Pingback: Lemon Blueberry Sweet Rolls | Cooking with The King

  4. Pingback: Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes | Cooking with The King

  5. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Pancakes | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

