Caprese Pasta Skillet

Hey, guys!

So, I’ve done a lot of thinking and praying, and I’ve decided to change my blog up a wee bit.

“Just a little bit… just a little bit…”

First and foremost, God is at the center of my life and I still want to make Him the center of my blog. However, I feel as if the sincerity of my posts suffers if I have to focus on a verse or topic each week.

On that note, I still want to do devos and share verses and testimonies as often as they come my way; just maybe not every day. I’m thinking of making these my Worship Wednesdays- that way I can spend time making sure the sincerity is there.

So, as my first “real food blogger” post, I have something beautiful to introduce to you:
Caprese Pasta Skillet

Image

This recipe came from a girl named Kristen whose blog is Iowa Girl Eats. I LOVE her blog- one of the first recipes I tried all by myself was her take-out fake-out Sesame Chicken and Broccoli. She and her husband Ben are expecting their first child this summer, and I’m super excited for them!

Flavored from the sauteed tomatoes and basil-y pesto, this gorgeous pasta dish should definitely be added to your summer repertoire.

Image

Image

I used fresh basil from our new herb garden pot, and let me tell you- DIVINITY.
We also have rosemary (my favorite), parsley, and cilantro. Hellooooo, summer!

So, anyway, pasta- how do ‘ya make this?

First, boil some orecchiette pasta according to package directions, but to *almost* al dente instead of full cook time.

Image

How cute is that pasta?!
While that’s cooking, go ahead and make your nut-free pesto. It’s muy facil – very easy.

Image

Just throw some basil leaves, parmesan cheese, garlic, salt and pepper in a food processor. Pulse to combine while streaming in some olive oil.

This was my very first time using a food processor; those things are fun! Just be careful not to cut yourself on the blade like I did… Ouch!

Next, saute some cherry tomatoes (halved and seasoned with s+p) in a pan.

Image

Add pasta and pesto to the tomatoes and combine. Top with chunks of mozzarella.

Image

Place in the oven on broil to get the cheese gooey and beautiful.

Image

And voila: there’s your new favorite meal.

recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

serves 3-4
Ingredients
1 cup (8 ounces) dry orecchiette pasta
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
splash of chicken broth or olive oil
1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, cubed
salt and pepper
fresh basil, to garnish
Pesto
12-ish basil leaves
1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese
1 clove (1/2 teaspoon) garlic, minced
2 teaspoons olive oil
salt and pepper

1. Go ahead and turn on your broiler. Cook pasta until just under al dente and drain. To make pesto, combine ingredients except olive oil in a food processor and pulse while streaming in olive oil until combined.
2. In a skillet, saute tomatoes in chicken broth or olive oil for 30 seconds on medium heat. Lower the heat, and add pasta and pesto and stir until combined. Place mozzarella cubes very strategically (I kid) in the pan, and place in the broiler for 5 minutes or so, or until the mozzarella has gotten gooey and gorgeous.
3. Serve warm with salt, pepper, a little sprinkle of italian seasoning, and yummy basil.

Enjoy! Have the happiest of weekends! And you Clevelanders, don’t forget the farmer’s market opens TOMORROW! YAY!!!

One thought on “Caprese Pasta Skillet

  1. Pingback: Caprese Stuffed Chicken Roll-Up Cups | Cupcakepedia

What's cookin'?

