Worship Wednesday – You are fearfully and wonderfully made.

I write this post out of sickness; out of disgust.

Girls of the world, why must we judge each other?

Why do the opinions of others matter, for our great and wonderful God created us magnificently.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 5:1

I’m going to be very frank here: I’m sick of these “rating” things on Instagram, “tbh”-es on Facebook, and any other use of social media to degrade others. It’s rude, it’s wrong, it’s uncalled for- it’s all things bad.

I see high schoolers judging junior highers and elementary school kids judging high schoolers and all in between – none is more “okay” than the other.

To the girls (and guys) doing the judging, sorry to be calling you out, but why? Why does your opinion matter? I don’t think God looks at the person you just judged and says, “Oh, you’re right. She’s not pretty. I don’t love her as much any more.”
No way!
It doesn’t make you “cooler” to give someone the rating of a two in order to be funny or to give someone the rating of a ten in order to be popular. And furthermore, God doesn’t think you’re any more beautiful or cool than the people you’re judging.

To those of you putting yourself out there, small props to you for having the guts to do that. However, why does it matter to you what these people think? Sure, it feels great to be complimented, but facts are facts: I don’t care how beautiful most think you are, there will always be someone there to tear you down. Be confident and know you are God’s child. When the Lord of All the Universe thinks you’re gorgeous and incredible, why should anyone else’s opinion matter?

This may cause some hurt feelings; this may even make people dislike me. It would kill me not to post this, though, so that’s what I’m going to do. Also, I know I’m just “some girl” and my opinion doesn’t matter either.

I finish with this – let it be a constant reminder that God loves you. God loves you no matter what anyone else thinks. And nothing will ever change that.

What's cookin'?

