Worship Wednesday: Affirmations

“Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:5-6

First off, my MGS experience just keeps getting better! The more time I spend here, the more I love it. I’ll be sad to leave, but I am excited to get home for three reasons: seeing my friends and family, seeing my bed, and seeing my kitchen. This cafeteria food is about to do me in. Who’s complaining, though?

This blog post will be rather short, partly because I’m supposed to be writing affirmations (I’ll explain in a second), and partly because I’ve been writing literally non-stop ALLLLL DAYYYY. I blogged for my first class (for my teacher’s blog- more to come on that), wrote affirmations, wrote a 5-page story for my second class along with two analyses, followed by more affirmations, and now my affirmation cards are staring me in the face as I write this.

Whew.

So, basically, affirmations are these beautiful things where we write little letters to other MGS scholars or faculty/staff on note cards telling them what we like about them or how much we appreciate them, etc.

They’re really super great. We don’t get to actually see ours until we’re on our way home, and I know it will be quite the emotional trip.

The actual affirmation process has been both easier and more difficult than I would have expected. I’ve had to call on God a lot to come up with something for every individual whom I am writing so that he or she could feel special, but once I got the general idea of what to say to someone, the rest of the affirmation came fairly easily.

By writing these it has occurred to me how desperately I need to affirm all of those whom I am around on a regular basis. Jesus calls us to support one another and use words “gracefully” and “seasoned with salt.” I thought that was beautifully put. Go Jesus!

I hate to be cheesy and abrupt, but affirm someone today. It could be in person; it could be in secret (all the ones here have to be signed). But let someone know how much he is appreciated.

Go on, it’ll be worth it.

2 thoughts on “Worship Wednesday: Affirmations

  1. Don’t know HOW I managed to miss the news that you were going to MGS! SOOOO proud of you….and thrilled that you get to take advantage of such a wonderful opportunity! Lawren went to Governor’s school, too, so I know firsthand what a lifechanging experience it can be. ENJOY!

What's cookin'?

