Skinny Chocolate Chip Scones

I’m HOME!!!

I can honestly say that although it was fun to be gone for a little while, it feels pretty darn good to be home.  
There were so many little things that I missed:
taking showers for as long as I wanted… cooking… seeing my mom and brother each day… cooking… sleeping soundly in my own bed… cooking…

You get the gist.

Also.

Image

chocolate chip scones

I’ve missed these.

And I didn’t even know I was missing them until it was requested that I make them.

Never going back, my friends.

Image

Warm and doughy from the oven and studded with little morsels of chocolate happiness, these little guys taste like a plate of sin.

Or something.

Image

But they’re not! By using only one tablespoon of real butter and one of light and two measly tablespoons of refined sugar, the chocolate chips do alllll the talking.

And talk, they do.

I halved the recipe for my family, but it can be easily doubled, tripled, or sextupled for however many scones you deem necessary.

Here’s how they’re made:

Image

Start by combining your liquids. A little buttermilk, a little egg, a little vanilla, a little sugar.
Whisk ’em all together.

On to the dry ingredients! Combine flours of two variations – all purpose and white whole wheat, but if you don’t have white whole wheat (though I highly recommend it!), using all purpose solely won’t make too much of a difference; baking powder, and salt. Then cut in the butter with a pastry cutter (below) or two knives.

Image

Fold in your chocolate chips…

Wait, first admire my super cute measuring cups:

Image

totes adorbs, am I right?!

Image

Noooow fold in your chocolate chips.

Then, combine your liquid and dry ingredients.
Stir with a spatula. The dough will be rather sticky.

Image

Form a circle of dough on a greased baking pan. I made my dough and let it chill overnight. It was much easier to handle in the morning come baking time. Baste with an egg white and sprinkle with a teeny bit of sugar. Slice into six scone-shaped hunks, and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

 

And there you have it! Scone perfection sans guilt. Sounds good to me!

recipe slightly adapted from Skinny Taste 
serves 6
Ingredients

6 tablespoons buttermilk
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
pinch of salt
1 tablespoon real butter
1 tablespoon light butter
1/4 cup chocolate chips
cooking spray
1 egg white
a sprinkling of sugar, for dusting

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees if baking the same day. Combine first four ingredients and whisk together.
2. Combine dry ingredients (flours, baking powder, salt) and whisk together.
3. Cut in butter (it must be super cold! I stick mine in the freezer for 20-30 minutes ahead of time) with a pastry cutter or two knives. Fold in chocolate chips.
4. Mix wet and dry mixtures together and stir with a spatula. The dough will be sticky. Chill overnight or form a (roughly) 6″ circle of dough on a greased baking pan. Baste with an egg white and sprinkle with about a teaspoon of sugar. Slice into six hunks. 
5. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Enjoy while warm.
Please note: if doubling, do not double the egg.

Image

Make these soon!

2 thoughts on “Skinny Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Pingback: Simple Scones | All Glorious

  2. Pingback: Lemon Buttermilk Scones « Putney Farm

What's cookin'?

