Worship Thursday: Conquering Comparison

Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.  Galatians 1:10

Hey, guys.

Sorry this post didn’t make it on Wednesday! Life without wisdom teeth has been a little rough- headaches, swelling, nausea- name the side effect; I’ve got it. So if this post doesn’t make much sense, you know why.

So this will be rather short considering it’s hard for me to concentrate on such things as typing. It’s honestly made me rather sad because I love blogging – especially on Wednesdays when I can talk about Jesus – and I had a really good topic for today.

I will say that I think it’s good I’ve made the transition from preaching every day to once a week because now my topics just come to me rather than me having to search for them.

Like today’s topic, for example, came to me through a quote:

“Comparison is the thief of joy.” – Theodore Roosevelt

Roosevelt was a pretty smart guy. And I must say, I agree with this wholeheartedly.

As soon as I start to compare myself to others or the things I have to those of others, happiness drains from my body. It’s like I can feel myself turning green with envy – and sickness. If someone is better dressed or mannered or educated than I am, I often have a hard time just “letting it go.”

At MGS, though, I learned that there are so many different kinds of well-dressed or well-mannered or well-educated or talented or funny or happy. That experience made it easier for me to take a few steps back and realize none of us are really better than the others – no matter our style of dress or personality.

That experience made me reluctant to compare myself to the girl sitting beside me. It wasn’t forced; I just didn’t care all that much. By the end of that 3-week period I realized we were all equals – comparison didn’t matter.

By comparing ourselves to others, we either get self-appreciation, or (in most cases) self-depreciation. Nine times out of ten, we make ourselves feel worse via comparison. Are we trying to win human approval, as we see in Galatians? If so, we are not being servants of Christ – our duty as human beings.

Although it’s scary, I’m going to try to think less about myself and how i compare to others. Like today, when I leave my house for the first time in four days, chipmunk-cheeked, so I can take my mom out for dinner on her birthday. I know all of you can do the same!

What's cookin'?

