Carolina Gold Sauce Salad

Happy Friday, everyone!

First of all, can I make your Friday a little brighter?
Can I, please?

Image

How much happy can one photo contain? I die.

 

Anyways, let me show you something else that makes me happy.

Image

Carolina Gold Sauce Salad

I’m hardly one to think that a salad constitutes as a recipe.
Well, I wasn’t one of those people until a few hours ago.
Then I made this salad.

It’s inspired by my favorite restaurant salad of all time excluding Panera, 
A la Carte in Cleveland’s Charleston Chicken Salad.

It’s your classic salad with romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, the works.
Oh, and a little something to make it spectacular:

GOLD SAUCE

something I’ve only recently realized is Carolina BBQ sauce
which hasn’t deterred me
it’s only intrigued me
and I made my own
and it all starts with this stuff:

Image

That’s right. Mustard.

If you’re not a mustard fan, I guess you’re out of luck, but if you are,
meet your new BFF.

You can buy it in stores, but it couldn’t be easier to whip up yourself:

Image

Combine mustard, apple cider vinegar, molasses, honey, brown sugar, Worcestershire, and a little bit of hot sauce, and you’ve done yourself a huge favor.

 

I also made homemade balsamic vinaigrette. Again, totally easy (recipe at the bottom).
Here’s a picture of two ingredients, just because I’m proud.

Image

For the chicken, saute a chicken breast and coat in sauce. 
Easy as it gets, right?

Here’s your new go-to summer salad. At least for the next month or so.

Carolina Gold Sauce Salad
serves 2
Ingredients
Salad Base
3-4 leaves romaine lettuce
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
10 slices cucumber
any various salad toppings of your choice
Chicken
1 chicken breast
salt and pepper
1. Pound chicken breast thin for quick sauteing and season both sides with salt and pepper. Heat a cast iron skillet and cook for 5-6 minutes on each side or until cooked throughout.
Gold Sauce (makes enough for 7-8 servings) adapted from Saveur 
1/4 cup yellow mustard
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon molasses
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce 
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.
Light Balsamic Vinaigrette adapted from Cooking Light 
1/4 cup basil leaves (not packed; about 6-7 large leaves)
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons chopped green onions
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
10 or so grinds black pepper
1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth. Shake before serving. Makes about 1/2 cup.

Image

Enjoy with whatever salad toppings you wish! I may have added some feta cheese and kalamata  olives after this photo-op. Because I’m Greek like that.

Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Carolina Gold Sauce Salad

  1. Pingback: Bacon Cornbread Panzanella Salad | Cooking with The King

  2. Pingback: Skillet Corn and Andouille Kale Salad | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

