Caramelitas

Image

First of all, let me just say that I am stressed, emotional, exhausted.

All of the above.

I’ve always known stage managers worked hard, but it is true that you never know
until you’ve walked in a man’s shoes.

Or however that saying goes.

Image

And to think this is only children’s theater…
(although, I must say that we like complex children’s theater at Delta Center Stage).

I’ve been spending the majority of my time lately in Greenville
prepping for Peter Pan, the amount of stress it has caused me is,
to be quite honest, equal to the amount of joy it has provided me.

The cast of about 85 kids has been working so hard to put together a wonderful show;
you should totally come if you live nearby!

Image

So even though I should most definitely be sleeping right now,
I’m blogging.

‘Cause I love it.

And I really, really, really want you guys to know about these things.

Image

happy little thoughts + pixie dust = flying

caramelitas = happy little thoughts

caramelitas + pixie dust = flying

Got all that?

Image

Good.

So, what exactly is a caramelita?

Good question.
It’s like a wonderfully chewy oatmeal chocolate chip cookie (my favorite!) in bar form
with a thick layer of gooey caramel sauce wedged in between.

Sold you yet? Let’s get started.

So the first thing you’ll want to do is make the caramel sauce.
Even though it’s semi-homemade, it takes a while to make.
P.S. my heavy cream was frozen, so that’s why it looks like weird melted ice cream.

Image

Add caramels and heavy cream to a saucepan and melt over low (low! no curdling!)
heat for about an hour. Trust me.

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix together flour, oats, sugar, and baking soda.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Add in an illegal amount of butter.

Image

Image

Image

Press half of the oat mixture into the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan, and bake for 10 minutes.

Image

Top with chocolate chips, and then…

Image

Dun, dun, DUNNNN.

Image

Told you it was worth the wait.

Top with the remaining mixture, and bake for an additional 20 minutes.

Image

Image

Uh huh. Who’s stressed out now? Noooobody.

Caramelitas
adapted from Lulu the Baker
makes 24 bars
Ingredients
64 caramel squares, unwrapped
1 cup heavy cream
2 cups rolled oats
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cup) butter, melted
1 heaping cup chocolate chips

1. Heat the caramels and cream over low heat for about an hour, until melted completely. Stir every ten minutes or so. Do not heat over high because the cream will curdle.
2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together oats, flour, sugar, and baking soda. Pour in the melted butter and stir.
3. Press half the oat mixture into a 9 x 13 inch baking dish. Bake for ten minutes, and top with chocolate chips. Pour caramel sauce over this, and add the rest of the oat mixture. Bake for another 20 minutes or until baked throughout. Let it cool completely before cutting. I refrigerated mine, and they stayed together (not as messy) after having been refrigerated overnight.

These have been on my recipe radar for quite some time now, and I’m so glad
I got an opportunity to make them. Try them soon!

One thought on “Caramelitas

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Oat Waffles with Honey Butter | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

