Roasted Blueberry and Brie Cornmeal Muffins

Image

Irony and coincidence are not the same thing.

For example, it is ironic that while my best friend Beth wants to be an
equine (that means horse) veterinarian and to live on a ranch in Kentucky,
I am anti-animal.

It is entirely coincidental that I had all of these lovely ingredients on-hand.

Image

Okay.

So let me start from the beginning.

Tieghan is a genius.

A mere four days ago, she posted these beautiful
(yes, I know her photography is 349298472 times better than mine)
roasted blueberry and brie cornbread muffins with warm honey butter.

My jaw dropped upon seeing them.

They looked absolutely divine-
AND I had every. single. ingredient. in my refrigerator-slash-pantry.

Image

I’m not one to re-blog recipes a few days after they’ve been posted,
but this was just fate, y’all.

So I woke up early to make them.

And – lo and behold! Tieghan’s genius website would not load.

I panicked.

In my compulsive mind, those muffins had to be made that instant.

Image

I remembered the gist of the recipe,
so I found a new (delicious!) cornmeal muffin recipe
and added Tieghan’s fabulous tweaks to create a (slightly) healthier
and totally delicious muffin.

I will warn you that these are not very sweet; you can add more honey or
sugar if you like. I think the cornmeal flavor seriously shines
in these as-is (as-are?). And don’t worry-
I have PAH-lenty of sweet recipes coming your way soon.

Image

The texture and flavor of the brie in these, too, is impeccable.
Paired with fresh, roasted blueberries…
It just doesn’t get better.

First you’ll combine flour, cornmeal, salt and your leavening twins in a bowl.

Image

Mix together buttermilk, eggs, butter, and honey, and add to the dry ingredients.

Image

Funny story about the honey, actually.

You see, I forgot it initially, and as I was divying the batter into twelfths,
it struck me like a lightning bolt.
THE HONEYYYYY!
I promptly scooped out my batter and added in the honey.
So that’s The Tale of Why The Muffins Are So Darn Purple.

Meanwhile, be roasting your blueberries.
They go from this…

Image

(room temperature)

to this…

Image

(taking a 400-degree suntan for 20 minutes).

Ciao bella.

So fold in your melted brie and roasted blueberries (very carefully!).

Image

And bake in muffin tins for 12 minutes.

Image

The fact that both you and I devoured these in a few days?

So not a coincidence.

Roasted Blueberry and Brie Cornmeal Muffins
inspired by Half Baked Harvest; adapted from My Baking Addiction
s
erves 12
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 tablespoons honey
1 1/4 cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cup blueberries
4 ounces (half a wheel) brie cheese (rind removed), melted

1. To roast the blueberries, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Roast for 15-20 minutes. Your house will smell amazing.
2. Mix together the cornmeal, flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.
3. Combine honey, buttermilk, and eggs and add to the dry ingredient mixture.
4. Fold in melted brie cheese and roasted blueberries. Pour batter into a greased muffin tin and bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool so the brie has a chance to settle.

Image

Happy Friday, everyone!

One thought on “Roasted Blueberry and Brie Cornmeal Muffins

  1. Pingback: Whipped Feta and Chicken Tostadas | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

