Brie and Bacon Grilled Cheese with Jam and Rosemary

Image

So, generally, sandwiches aren’t my thing.

Turkey, bread, blah, blah.

I need something more exciting in my life.

Enter this sandwich.

Image

I’ve written before about my love for Crave.

I just didn’t know how much I loved it until I tried their
Brie and Bacon Grilled Cheese with Fig Jam on Rosemary Focaccia.

Long title, I know.
It’s not long enough to describe its deliciousness.

Image

I must admit, that sandwich was my first encounter with Brie cheese,
so I was a bit skeptical.

Call me a skeptic no longer.

I couldn’t wait to try it at home.

Image

So I did.

And it’s so, so simple and fantastic that
you’ll want to make one every day for a week.

Just like I have.

You’ll start with two slices of bread-
I used an Italian loaf for picture purposes, but plain ‘ole white is great.

And spread an ounce of brie over one of the slices.

Image

Fry a piece of bacon…

Image

…and spread jam over the other side of the bread.

I used a local dewberry jam. MMM SO GOOD.

Image

Layer on the bacon, add a little rosemary to the bacon grease left in the skillet,
and grill your grilled cheese. You know what to do.

(this is my apology for not taking pictures of these very
complicated steps)

And enter my favorite step…

eat the sandwich. Eat, eat the sandwich.

Image

It’s heaven-sent, I tell you.

It’s a perfect combination of savory and sweet,
and it has bacon.

Could you really ask for more?

Brie and Bacon Grilled Cheese with Jam and Rosemary
serves 2
4 slices white bread (thick-cut preferred, but sandwich bread is just fine)
2 ounces brie cheese
2 slices center cut bacon
2 tablespoons jam of your choice (although I’d go with a dark berry)
1 small sprig rosemary, chopped

1. Spread an ounce of brie on two of the slices of bread. Slice a tablespoon of jam on each of the other two slices.
2. Fry the bacon, and leave the grease in the pan. Cut bacon in halves, and add to sandwich. Put the slices of bread together.
3. Add rosemary to the grease in the pan. On medium-high heat, cook the sandwiches in a skillet, cooking each side for about two minutes. Halve and devour.

So cheesy. So jammy. So bacon-y. So good.

Image

5 thoughts on “Brie and Bacon Grilled Cheese with Jam and Rosemary

  1. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Pancakes | Cooking with The King

  2. Pingback: Margherita Fontina Beer Crust Pizza | Cooking with The King

  3. Pingback: Grilled Cheesus | Cooking with The King

  4. Pingback: Ham and Brie Tartine with Fig Mustard | Cooking with The King

  5. Pingback: Skillet Corn and Andouille Kale Salad | Cooking with The King

What's cookin'?

