Summer Squash, Carrot, and Gruyere Quiche

Image

Don’t let the title scare you; this quiche is gooood.

And healthy.

And it involves bacon.

My favorite.

Image

After these past couple of months of eating not-so-healthily,
I’ve been on quite the healthful kick,
as I probably should be, considering I plan on being a nutritionist.

Enter this quiche.

It’s loaded with protein (eggs), fiber (veggies), and vitamins (Veggies again),
and you get to eat cheese and bacon too.

It’s quite the win.

Image

I’ve been devouring this quiche ever since its creation
because it just makes me feel so healthy.

Is that a bad thing?

I hope not.

The next few recipes you see from me will be relatively healthy
because I a) I need to get back on track (as explained),
and b) Mom, the brother, and I are headed to the Big Easy today.

Hellooooo, unhealthy eating.

Hellooooo, detox upon arriving home.

Image

For this recipe I used this applewood smoked gruyere,
and let me tell ‘ya-

Favorite. Cheese. Evaaaa.

Used it in this bread.

Favorite. Bread, Evaaaa.

It’s all in the cheese, man.

I also used refrigerated pie crust. I had one to use. Judge me.

You’ll start by frying some bacon, then crumbling it.

Image

Grate up your veggies – I promise they’re almost tasteless. And so colorful!

Image

Image

And squeeze the excess liquid out. Not a fan of extra-watery quiche.

Image

Combine eggs and milk.

Image

Fold in those pretty veggies.

Image

And then fold in the bacon and grated cheese.

Image

Image

And whisk.

Image

And pour.

Image

Bake at 350 for about an hour…

Image

And enjoy. So pretty!

Summer Squash, Carrot, and Gruyere Quiche
serves 6-8
Ingredients
4 eggs
1 cup milk
2 medium carrots, grated
1 medium zucchini. grated
1 medium yellow squash, grated
1/2 cup grated gruyere cheese
4 slices center cut bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 pie crust (I used Pillsbury refrigerated)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Fry the bacon in a skillet (watch out for the grease!), let the grease drain, and then crumble it. Grate the vegetables. Fill the pie pan with pie crust.
2. Whisk together the eggs and milk. Fold in the vegetables, then the bacon, then the cheese. Whisk. Fill the pie crust. Bake at 350 for about an hour, cut into slices, and enjoy.

Image

Yummy, yummy!

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Summer Squash, Carrot, and Gruyere Quiche

What's cookin'?

