Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Image

Home again, home again!

We had the best time in New Orleans; recap Monday, I promise!

Today I have these beautiful Pioneer Woman-inspired pancakes to show you.

But first, a little bloggity business.

1) Remember when I jokingly said I’d eat corn on ice cream?

Image

BA-BAM. Sweet corn ice cream. On Hawaiian rolls.
My mother is disgusted. I am so intrigued.
Head on over to one of my favorite blogs, Spoon Fork Bacon, for this and many
other gorgeous, inventive recipes!

2. BRIE AND JAM PRETZEL HAND PIES

Stephanie’s beautiful pictures are copyrighted,
but check these out puh-lease. I’m begging.

You know how I love my brie and jam (so much!).
These pretty hand pies will get me through my (last!) first week of school.

3. Happy National S’mores Day! Celebrate with my Biscoff S’mores Bars.

You know you want to.

Check it out, check it out.

So anyway. Pancakes.

Image

You know of my love.
So far I’ve made carrot cake, lemon berry, and plain ole buttermilk.

You also know of my love for The Pioneer Woman.
My recipe inspired by her baked french toast is the most popular one on my site!

At this point I kind of feel like I’m cooking my way through her recipes.
Sorta like that movie Julie and Julia.
But Pioneer-ified.

Image

This is a healthier adaptation of her recipe for Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.

I just used greek yogurt instead of sour cream.
Protein-packed and delicious? What’s not to love?

Unlike most pancake recipes, this one uses more liquid (yogurt + egg)
than dry ingredients (flour), so you get a lighter, thinner pancake.
AKA you get to eat more.
It’s rather lovely.

Image

Serve these with warm maple or blueberry syrup and a mug of Earl Grey
(or coffee if you’re normal unlike me).
Per-fec-tion.

Start with a cup of plain (not vanilla) greek yogurt.

Image

Add a scant half cup of flour.

Image

A heaping tablespoon of sugar (and some un-photographed baking soda)…

Image

And half a teaspoon of salt (can’t you see I love measuring things?)

Image

Mix, but not too much! Overmixing pancakes is a bad idea.

Image

The batter will look… not like pancake batter. That’s okay.

Egg is next! Whisk two eggs and 1/2 a teaspoon vanilla.

Image

Add to the batter…

Image

And NOW it looks like pancake batter! It tastes like it, too. Better, even.
This batter is gooood stuff.

Image

Drop 1/4 cup batter in a skillet on medium-high heat, and cook on each side 1-2
minutes, or until bubbles in the middle of the pancake stay open.

Image

And serve. Warm. It’s so mandatory.

Image

Greek Yogurt Pancakes
adapted from Pioneer Woman
yields 6 small-medium pancakes
Ingredients
1 cup plain greek yogurt (I used nonfat – fabulous!)
scant 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 heaping tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
butter, for serving
syrup, for serving

1. Combine greek yogurt, flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. The batter will be thick and weird-looking; don’t be alarmed.
2. Whisk together eggs and vanilla. Add to greek yogurt mixture and stir. Be careful not to overmix!
3. Drop 1/4 cup portions of the batter onto a skillet on medium-high heat. Cook for 1-2 minutes on each side, or until the bubbles in the middle stay open. Serve warm with syrup and butter.

Image

Healthy, quick, and easy pancakes. A few of my favorite things.

Have a great weekend!

What's cookin'?

