Bacon Cornbread Panzanella Salad

Image

You read that correctly.

Bacon. Cornbread.

It’s like a beautiful, beautiful dream.

Image

You already know that I love a good salad.

I love bread a lot, too.

And cornbread? It’s one of my favorites.

Put cornbread in a salad and you’ve won me over.

Image

These cornbread croutons are TO DIE FOR.

I used a variant of my healthy creamed corn cornbread recipe, added some bacon,
cut the bread into squares, doused the squares with some melted butter,
toasted them in the oven, and topped the salad with them.

That sounds like a lot of steps, doesn’t it?

Well, maybe so, but it is totally, inexplicably worth it.

Speaking of all those adverbs, did you hear
they changed the meaning of literally in the dictionary?

That got under my skin.

Back to the salad.

Image

Please look at all that beauty. Please.

Since cornbread makes me feel kind of Southwestern-y
(or at least it did the day I made this), I went with that theme for the salad.
I topped peppery arugula with bell peppers, tomatoes, corn (of course), carrots, and red onions;
and for the dressing I used Bolthouse Farms’ Caesar Parmigiano.

Image

So much love.

Bacon Cornbread Panzanella Salad
Ingredients
Bacon Cornbread Croutons:
1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 egg
1/2 cup creamed corn (I used canned)
1 piece of bacon, cooked and diced
2 tablespoons light butter
Salad:
3 cups arugula lettuce
1/2 small tomato, diced
1/4 red bell pepper, diced
1/4 orange bell pepper, diced
1/2 ear of corn, kernels removed
shredded carrots, optional
sliced red onion, optional
2 tablespoons dressing of choice (I used this one)

1. For croutons: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 9×13 baking pan. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl and wet in another (sorry, I’m tired). Slowly stir in wet ingredients. Fold in bacon. Pour into pan and bake for around 20 minutes or until cooked throughout.
2. Once cooled, slice into squares (should get around 50-60, depending on how large you want them to be). I let mine rest a day, but it’d probably be fine if you go ahead with the crouton-ing. Grease a baking sheet, and add cornbread to it. Melt 2 tablespoons light butter and pour over cornbread squares. Toss to coat. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or until slightly crunchy. They will stay crunchy for up to a day.
3. For the salad: Combine all ingredients and top with cornbread croutons and dressing.

Image

I’m linking up with Karly from http://www.bunsinheroven.com and her What’s Cookin’ Wednesday posts! Check them out!
Hope you’re having a great week so far!
MC

One thought on “Bacon Cornbread Panzanella Salad

  1. Pingback: Brazilian Cornmeal Cake | Fearless Food & Fitness

What's cookin'?

