Grilled Cheesus

Image

I’m sure all you Gleeks (any of you still out there?) remember this episode.

I made a Grilled Cheesus.

But not really, though.

I have, however made three (three!) grilled cheesES in the past two weeks.
I was inspired after making the brie and bacon with jam one.

I know. It’s gettin’ crazy.

Image

(^above: sorry. phone pic. sharing a camera with my mom sometimes gets complicated.)

There’s a reason why grilled cheese is, like, the ultimate comfort food.

Something about ooey, gooey chese wedged with flavorful extras
between two golden, buttery pieces of bread.

Image

It’s kind of my new favorite thing.

HA! As if I could pick one favorite thing.
Which is why I’ve brought you three of these.

They’re all so cheesy and beautiful I don’t know where to start.

Yes I do. Pimento Cheese.

Image

This sandwich is chock full of spicy-sweet pimento cheese, smoky bacon,
juicy tomato slices, crisp lettuce, and – wait for it – charred grilled corn.

Which wasn’t really grilled because this:

Image

That’s right. I went there.

Flavor-packed, melty deliciousness. And the fun doesn’t stop there.

Moving along to Fontina Berry Balsamic.

A sweet take on the classic, this delicious sandwich is full of ripe red strawberries,
soft fontina cheese, and a balsamic glaze.

I sound like an auctioneer. I guess I sort of am.

Image

After making this I decided fontina is the way to go on grilled cheese.

It melts so well, and its subtle-but-impeccable flavor makes it just so… sigh.

Luv. It.

And, finally, tomato basil goat cheese and turkey!

Image

This one does involve a cheese that may require some searching.

It’s oh-so worth it.

Image

Goat cheese and I are quickly becoming BFFs. It’s so tangy and I don’t know how
else to accurately describe it without turning you off but if you like feta,
you will love this sandwich. It’s crazy good.

Although my blogger brain tried to stray me,
I made all of these sandwiches with every-day white (wheat) sandwich bread!

So all you guys have to do is buy the cheeses and spend the 5 minutes it takes
(minus the balsamic glaze) to put these together.

Perfect for lunches on busy days when you’re tired of your plain ole turkey and cheese.

For all sandwiches you’ll need a slice of white sandwich bread & non-stick butter spray (and cheese, of course!)
Pimento Grilled Cheese
Ingredients
1/4 cup pimento cheese, storebought or homemade
2 slices tomato
1 piece of romaine lettuce
1 cooked piece of bacon, crumbled
1/4 ear grilled corn, optional (just use your gas stovetop!)

Fontina Berry Balsamic
1/4 cup strawberries, sliced
1 ounce fontina cheese
1 tablespoon balsamic reduction

Tomato Basil Goat Cheese and Turkey
1 ounce tomato basil goat cheese
2 slices tomato
1 piece of romaine lettuce
2 slices deli turkey

1. Cut piece of bread in half. Fill with toppings. Close sandwich. Spray outside bread with non-stick spray.
2. Place sandwich in a skillet over medium heat. Cover with lid for 2-3 minutes or until cheese is melted and one side of the bread is toasted. Flip sandwich and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes. Eat, eat, eat!

Image

And I did just that.

Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Cheesus

What's cookin'?

