Nectarine Pancakes

Image

You didn’t think I’d let summer get away without another pancake recipe, did ya?

Did ya?

Mmm, and aren’t you glad I didn’t. I am, anyway.

Image

Nectarines are probably my favorite summer fruit,
and I wait the whoooole season for their tart deliciousness.

And then I put ’em in pancakes.

Image

They get all caramelize-y and tender and everything good in the world.

Of course, the fact that it’s encased in a pancake makes it all the better.

It’s like… mmm, pancakes SURPRISE NECTARINE HAPPINESS.

That’s definitely what it’s like.

Image

These were probably the most tender pancakes I’ve ever made – and I’ve made a bunch –
and it’s all thanks to (dun-dah-dun!)
ALMOND MILK.

My new favorite thing.

Totally replaces the buttermilk fabulously here.

You should give it a try sometime.

Image

Nectarine Pancakes
adapted from my
serves 4
1 nectarine, thinly sliced
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour (fiber for fullness!)
1 cup almond milk (I use regular, sweetened)
1 egg
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt

1. Combine flours, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Combine milk and egg in a measuring cup and beat to combine. Pour liquid mixture into dry mixture and whisk slowly to combine. Don’t worry about chunks! Those make for a perfect pancake.
2. Heat a skillet over medium heat. Ladel the batter in 1/4 cup portions into the skillet. Place nectarine slices in each pancake. Cook pancakes on both sides for 1-2 minutes. Serve warm with powdered sugar, maple syrup, and sauteed nectarines.

Image

Nectarines for the win.

This post is short n’ sweet because college class is kickin’ my behind and I have a paper due Thursday.

Hope your week is going great!

MC

2 thoughts on “Nectarine Pancakes

What's cookin'?

