Whole Wheat Oat Waffles with Honey Butter

Image

My, oh my, oh my.

Let me tell ‘ya what’s up.

Well, first of all, these waffles are what’s UP. Paired with the honey butter… you can’t get more “what’s up” than that.
Not even pre-teen television shows circa 2005. Or 1972. Lotsa what’s up there, too.

But there’s a lot of other what’s up in my life right now, too.

Image

On a positive, stress-free note, my trip to Bama was perfection.
I came home, and I was like WAH I’M STILL IN HIGH SCHOOL.
In that whiny tone in which you read it. Yep, definitely still in high school.

As for the other side of things, I have (per usual) ten million things to get done this week.
The number one of which is studying for this weekend’s ACT.
It is hoped that this will be my last time to take it (32 32 32!!!).
I say this in all seriousness: please pray for me and my dear, precious little score.

I also have along with it the stress that comes with being me-
aka a to-do list two-hundred bullets long.
It never ends. Don’t feel bad for me; I kind of bring it on myself.

Image

So much depends on my ACT score that my mother banned me from cooking this week,
so that’s given me a little study time since I’ve had basically nothing to cook OR post;
but I’ve also been a bit harried in that sense considering cooking is my stress-relief.

It has, however, been a bit of a stress reliever to know we’re getting rid of some, well,
questionable items in our freezer.

Begone, mono-and-diglycerides!

I’m such a freak.

Image

So here’s the waffle part of it all:
These waffles are just delicious.

Add oats to baked goods, and you just can’t go wrong.
The hearty chewiness, the hearty texture, the hearty flavor…
AND they’re good for your heart!

I heart them.

Image

And since these waffles are adapted from my favorite waffle recipe EVAH
(meaning they use whole wheat and applesauce instead of oil),
you can soak them in drizzle on as much honey buttah as you want.

Pour some honey butter on your waffles
OOOOOHH IN THE NAME OF LOVE
(brownie points for all those under the age of 18 whom can guess correctly the artist and song title… anyone?)

Image

Have mercy.

And you can feel like a health freak (like me!) while doing it.
‘Cause it’s honey (butter), right? Right?

And all God’s people said
AMEN.

Image

Whole Wheat Oat Waffles with Honey Butter
adapted from The Greatest Waffle Recipe Known to Man
makes 10 waffles (1/2 cup of batter)
Ingredients
3/4 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs, separated
2 cups almond milk (could use cow’s milk)
6 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
For the honey butter:
2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons light butter (like Brummel & Brown!)

1. Preheat waffle iron and spray with non-stick spray.
2. Combine oats, flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir.
3. Combine vanilla, egg yolks, milk, and applesauce. Beat well, and pour into dry ingredients. Stir to combine.
4. In a small bowl, whip egg whites with a handheld mixer or until a peak forms. Fold into the batter. Using a 1/2 cup measure, pour the batter one waffle at a time into the iron, and cook for 3-4 minutes, or according to the time your waffle iron instructions says it will take. All are different. Mine is ancient.
5. Serve warm with honey butter! All you do is melt the honey and light butter together so that it’s very liquid and pourable.

Image

And the honey butter….

It’s good on everything.

Oatmeal, crackers, leftover pizza…

I’ll stop myself there.

Happy Thursday!

What's cookin'?

