Three Cheese Stovetop Skinny Spinach Artichoke Dip

Image

…with bacon.

I know. It’s a lot to take in.

Three cheeses:
cream cheese, parmesan, and fontina (oh, blessed fontina).

Stovetop:
creamy, warm, cheesy bliss that doesn’t have to be baked.

Skinny:
does NOT read flavorless. This stuff is so decadent you’d think it’d have a million calories.

Spinach Artichoke Dip:
Like who doesn’t love it?

with Bacon:
I don’t think this calls for an explanation.

Image

And then I made you some semi-homemade pita chips there, too, so you know, you can thank me if you want.

Pita pockets. Parmesan. Parsley. Olive oil.

Image

You really just can’t go wrong with this stuff.

If I were the tailgating type (which I will be soon enough – hello, college!),
I’m pretty sure this would be my numero uno tailgate food.

Warm, creamy, cheesy dip with crunchy pita chips?

Image

If I’m wrong for that, I don’t really want to be right.

I made this dip for a get-together my friends and I had,
and the both the chips and dip were pretty much demolished.

I’m not bragging; I had a pretty big part in that myself.

But if teenage boys are smashing some girly chips and dip,
hey, you’ve got yourself a winner.

Image

I wonder if they realize they were eating vegetables…

Hmm.

No harm, no foul.

Image

Get some vegetables in your life today.

Three Cheese Stovetop Skinny Spinach Artichoke Dip + Parsley Parmesan Pita Chips
serves 10-12
Ingredients
3/4 cup (6 ounces) nonfat greek yogurt
3/4 cup (6 ounces) neufachel (light) cream cheese
1/2 cup (4 ounces) light sour cream
1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 tablespoon butter
1/4 cup chopped white onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, drained
1 can artichoke hearts, drained
1/2 cup shredded fontina cheese
4 slices center cut bacon, cooked and crumbled
salt and pepper
crushed red pepper flakes, optional
extra parmesan, for topping
For the Pita Chips:
12 pita pockets (or 6 pita rounds) sliced into triangles
1 tablespoon olive oil
grated parmesean
chopped parsley

1. Combine Greek yogurt, cream cheese, sour cream, and parmesan cheese in a bowl. In a saucepan over medium-low heat, add butter, onions, and garlic clove. Saute for 2 minutes or until cooked. Add in yogurt mixture and lower temperature. Warm for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
2. In a food processor combine spinach and artichokes. Pulse until completely chopped. Once dip base is warm, fold in spinach and artichokes and fontina cheese. Continue to warm.
3. Cook bacon and crumble. Add to dip. Add salt and pepper and crushed red pepper and parmesan to garnish. Serve warm with pita chips and veggies.
For Pita Chips:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat sliced pita in olive oil, parmesan, and parsley and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 5 minutes or until slightly crispy. They will become more crisp once cooled. Serve with dip.

Image

My life.

2 thoughts on “Three Cheese Stovetop Skinny Spinach Artichoke Dip

What's cookin'?

