Blueberry Streusel Oatmeal Flax Muffins

Image

It’s FRIIIDAY, FRIIIDAY

Gotta eat blueberry streusel muffins on FRIIIIDAY

That’s how that song goes, right?

In my world, yes.

Image

Muffins are the perfect way to end the week.

You wanna know why?

Well, besides the fact that muffins are perfect for any day of the week
because they’re just so freakin’ good.

But muffins are like the epitome of easy.

Easy = no mix dry, mix wet, mix wet with dry.
Easy = mix it ALLLLL together.

And that’s your lesson on The Anatomy of a Muffin.

Image

Muffins frustrate me sometimes with their high calorie count.

Like, why can’t we live in a calorie-free world?

I sometimes imagine a world without calories. It’s a really happy place. But that’s another story for another time.

But these muffins won’t bust your diet, and I promise they’re super delicious!

They’ve got oats, whole wheat flour, flax seed (you won’t know it’s there, I swear), greek yogurt, and blueberries.

I like shoving healthiness in stuff. It makes me feel like a stealthy ninja.

I like shoving these muffins in my face, too.

It makes me feel like a healthy stealthy ninja umm… girl.

Image

AND look at that streusel. Just look at it.

That’s where all the butter goes in this recipe, and it is worth the heck out of it.

When these cute hunks-of-love-aka-muffins are baking, all you smell is the pretty BUTTAH on top.

I’m getting more liberal with my butter use if you couldn’t tell,
and I. am. loving. it.

It’s part of my quest to eat Real Food. More on that to come.

Image

Bursty, beautiful blueberries. Alliteration.

I know blueberry season is over, but they were on sale at Kroger.

So I bought ’em. And I used ’em. And you can do the same. Or frozen will work! You have to freeze them anyway, so you know.

Image

Yeah, and also, these were terrible.

Obviously.

Blueberry Streusel Oatmeal Flax Muffins
yields 12 muffins
adapted from Pinch of Yum
I
ngredients
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
2 heaping tablespoons flaxseed
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 cup almond milk
2 tablespoons nonfat Greek yogurt
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup blueberries, frozen
2 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons all purpose flour

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Either grease or line a 12-muffin tin. I’d recommend greasing because due to the oats, these muffins tend to stick to wrappers.
2. Mix all ingredients through baking powder in a medium bowl. Fold in blueberries once everything is well-combined.
3. Using a 1/3 cup measure, divvy out muffin portions. Combine butter, brown sugar, and flour in a small bowl. Crumble with your fingertips until a delicate crumble is formed. Sprinkle liberally on top of muffins.
4. Bake for 23-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy warm. These stay good at room temperature for 2 days.

Image

Weekend breakfast for the win.

What's cookin'?

