Honey Cumin Roasted Fall Vegetables

Image

GUYS.

This here is my love. As sad as that may be, it’s da truf.

Gosh, I’ve missed being myself on this blog and being able to write things such as “da truf.”
Sorry if it’s a little much. But not really.

Image 

Roasting vegetables is pretty much one of my favorite hobbies (laugh if you want but I’m not kidding),
and if you put butternut squash into the equation, well, I’m sold.

Roasting = caramelizing, and caramelizing = sugar, and sugar = the only thing.
So if you’re following my train of thinking,
roasting = the only thing.
So that’s that.

 Image

My family started roasting fall veggies this way last year,
and let me tell you – best thing of my life.

We usually roast what you see here: winter squash, sweet potatoes, carrots, and onions,
but you can add in whatever you want – beets, broccoli, turnips, the works.

I didn’t peel ’em because who likes naked vegetables has time for that?

And a little warning (not really a warning but really a blessing because, you know, these veggies rock),
this recipe makes a TON. So I almost wouldn’t be offended if you halved the recipe.
But don’t blame me when you want more and have to roast more the next day.

Image

There’s something about the sweetness of the honey, the heat of the cumin and cayenne, the warmth of the cinnamon…
the flavors all meld together and bring out all the great flavor in these fall vegetables.

Recipes like that make vegetable-eating enjoyable,
and if vegetable eating is enjoyable,
life must be great.

Image

I just look at this plate, and I’m like,
life’s good, yo.

Don’t you feel the same?

Honey Cumin Roasted Fall Vegetables
adapted from USA Weekend October 12-14 2012
serves 8
Ingredients
1 medium butternut squash, cubed
1 large sweet potato, cubed
3 large carrots, sliced
1 small sweet onion, sliced
2 tablespoons olive or grapeseed oil
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground coriander (ground cilantro)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
fresh thyme, chopped
salt and pepper to taste, for serving

1. Preheat oven to 375. Combine oil, honey, salt, and spices. Pour over vegetables and massage to coat.
2. Place vegetables on 1-2 foil-covered baking sheets. Roast for 20 minutes. Stir and add in thyme. Roast another 20 minutes. (I generally roast mine on convect and it takes about half the time – just keep an eye on ’em). Serve with a sprinkle of thyme, salt, and pepper.

Image

Fall’s a good thyme.

See what I did there?

One thought on “Honey Cumin Roasted Fall Vegetables

What's cookin'?